Aggies Down WMU, Alcaraz and Lopez Beat No. 47 Doubles Team

MIDLAND, Texas– The New Mexico State women’s tennis team defeated Western Michigan, 4-3, on Sunday at the West Texas Shootout in Midland, Texas.

The Aggies (7-4) have now won five of their last six dual-matches and have yet to drop the doubles point during that stretch.

“I’m extremely proud of the team today,” NM State head coach Ivan Fernandez said. “We came out fighting in doubles and carried it through into the singles.”

Against the Mustangs (7-6), NM State continued its strong doubles’ play by winning the doubles’ point via the No. 1 and No. 2 spots.

Senior Susana Alcaraz and junior Erika Castillo Lopez got things started for the Aggies by defeating the 47th nationally-ranked doubles team of Caroline Aleck and Meika Ashby, 6-1.

NM State clinched the doubles’ point when junior Ashvarya Shrivistava and senior Denise Van Der Ben claimed a 6-3 decision over Barbare Eristavi and Yuriko Ono.

The Aggies split singles’ competition to clinch the victory.

At the No. 1 spot, Shrivistava downed Aleck 6-3, 6-3, while Alcaraz garnered her seventh victory of the spring with a 6-2, 6-2 win over WMU’s Olivia Myers.

After No. 3 Van Der Ben and No. 4 Lopez dropped their singles’ match, junior Mia Brandt did enough to claim a three-set victory over Ono, 7-6, 4-6, 6-3.

NM State women’s tennis renews the I-25 rivalry when they travel to Albuquerque, N.M. on Saturday to face New Mexico.

NM State vs. Western Michigan Women’s Tennis

March 8, 2015 Midland, Texas

Match Results

Singles competition

1. Ashvarya Shrivistava (NMSU) def. Caroline Aleck (WMU) 6-3, 6-3

2. Susana Alcaraz (NMSU) def. Olivia Myers (WMU) 6-2, 6-2

3. Barbare Eristavi (WMU) def. Denise Van Der Ben (NMSU) 6-0, 6-3

4. Tracy Kuhle (WMU) def. Erika Castillo Lopez (NMSU) 6-2, 6-3

5. Mia Brandt (NMSU) def. Yuriko Ono (WMU) 7-6, 4-6, 6-3

6. Labina Petrovska (WMU) def. Marie-Pier Thiffault (NMSU) 6-1, 6-4

Doubles competition

1. Susana Alcaraz/Erika Castillo Lopez (NMSU) def. Caroline Aleck/Meika Ashby (WMU) 6-1

2. Ashvarya Shrivistava/Denise Van Der Ben (NMSU) def. Barbare Eristavi/Yuriko Ono (WMU) 6-3

3. Tracy Kuhle/Olivia Myers (WMU) def. Marie-Pier Thiffault/Gabrielle Joyce (NMSU) 6-4


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s