Aggies place 13 on NCEA Academic Teams

Courtesy of NMSU

WACO, Texas – New Mexico State had 13 student-athletes receive academic honors on Wednesday as the National Collegiate Equestrian Association announced the Beval Saddlery Academic Teams and the La Hacienda Academic Honor Roll.

The teams recognize student-athletes for success both in the arena and in the classroom during the 2014-15 academic year.

The Aggies placed eight riders on the Beval Saddlery NCEA Academic First Team to join South Carolina, who placed nine riders on the first team, as the schools with the most first team selections. NM State added two more on the second team and two honorable mentions.

Seniors Marissa Bartmann, Brynn Larson and Amber Tassel lead the Aggie contingent on the first team, and are joined by juniors Chelsea Brady, Julie Frey, Elizabeth Solomon, Rianna Storey and sophomore Jaimie Story.

Senior Lauren DeVoe and sophomore Katlynn Crine were selected to the Beval Saddlery Academic second team, while senior Shannon Dooley and sophomore Cori Cromwell were named honorable mention.

The Beval Saddlery Academic Teams use performance and scholarship requirements to determine team placement, with first team competing in a minimum of 70 percent of their institution’s meets while earning a cumulative 3.5 GPA or better while maintaining fulltime enrollment in the previous spring and fall semesters. Second team members must compete in a minimum of 60 percent of their school’s meets with a cumulative 3.25 GPA or better, with honorable mention riders must compete in 50 percent of the meets and have a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better.

“This is a great honor for these outstanding riders,” said NM State head coach Robin Morris-Walters. “They compete well and study just as hard. I’m very proud of them.”

The NCEA also announced the La Hacienda Academic Honor Roll on Wednesday, recognizing those student-athletes who earned a cumulative 3.25 GPA over the previous spring and fall semesters.

Sophomore Ella Algermissen joined Bartmann, Brady, Crine, DeVoe, Frey, Larson, Solomon, Storey, Story, and Tassel from NM State on that honor roll.

The Aggies open competition in the 2015 NCEA Championships on Thursday at the Extraco Events Center in Waco.

NM State is the number 11 seed in the competition and rides against No. 6 seeded Fresno State at 7:30 a.m. (MST).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s