Aggie Men’s Golf Wins Third Consecutive WAC Title

Courtesy of NMSU

LITCHFIELD, Ariz. – The New Mexico State men’s golf team held on to the lead winning its third consecutive Western Athletic Conference title and its eighth in 10 years after marking a combined-team score of 2-under-par 861 (287-288-286) on the Heritage Course at the Wigwam Golf Club (7,161 yards, par 72).

Four out of the five participating Aggies placed in the top 10 with senior Brett Walker pacing his team with a 3-under-par 213 (70-73-70) to finish in a tie for second. Walker played very well on par 4 holes and ended the tournament with 13 birdies over 54 holes of play. He was named a second team All-WAC selection.

“We came into this week with a lot of expectations and sometimes it is hard to overcome those expectations and be successful,” head coach Mike Dirks said. The guys played steady golf and made pars and putts when we had to. Again, that was expected but it’s not easy to accomplish.”

With the Aggies winning another conference title came another WAC Coach of the Year award for head coach Mike Dirks.  It is his second straight coach of the year award as he has been a part of the winning tradition NM State.

“It is great to have the kids that are always striving to get better; that are eager to learn; that want to win conference titles; that want to move farther,” Dirks said. “Those are the kind of kids we have here and those are the kind of players that have made this program the success that it is.”

Junior Kenneth Fadke finished in fourth place with a 2-under-par 214 (72-73-69) and started the final round of play with an eagle on the par 5, 548 yard hole No. 1 before finishing the day with a 3-under-par 69.  He finished the three-day tournament with one eagle and 13 birdies, while being named a second team all-WAC member.

Senior Pat Beyhan and sophomore Luis Medina tied for 10th with a 3-over-par 219.  Beyhan shot rounds of 72-74-73 and Medina carded rounds of 75-70-74 to help their team to its eighth WAC title since joining the league during the 2005-06 season.  With the help of Beyhan and Medina, the Aggies have now won WAC Championships in 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015.

Freshman Keith Bennett wrapped up the Aggie lineup with tying for 14th with a 221 (73-72-76) while he was able to par 31 holes over the three days of play.

WAC Men’s Coach of the Year

Mike Dirks

All-WAC (First Team)

Luis Medina

Pat Beyhan

All-WAC (Second Team)

Kenneth Fadke

Brett Walker


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s