Aggies Drop First Round Dual-Match to No. 16 Texas Tech

Courtesy of NMSU

LUBBOCK, Texas- The New Mexico State women’s tennis team was eliminated from the 2015 NCAA Regional Championships after No. 16 Texas Tech defeated the Aggies, 4-0, in the first round on Friday in Lubbock, Texas.

NM State ends its season at 13-12 overall and with its first ever appearance in the NCAA Championships. The Red Raiders improved to 20-6 and advanced to the second round of the 2015 NCAA Regional Championships.

Texas Tech wasted no time to by claiming the doubles point. On court No. 2, Lynn Kiro and Sabrina Federici defeated junior Ashvarya Shrivistava and senior Denise Van Der Ben, 8-1.

The Red Raiders clinched the initial point with an 8-1 performance by Sara Dvorak and Katelyn Jackson over sophomore Gabrielle Joyce and freshman Rimpledeep Kaur.

The doubles match-up between the 34 th nationally-ranked team of Kenna Kilgo and Gabriela Talaba and senior Susana Alcaraz and junior Erika Castillo Lopez went unfinished.

In singles’ play, the Red Raiders didn’t let off the pedal as they clinched the first round victory by winning the three necessary singles’ matches.

Talaba defeated Alcaraz, 6-1, 6-0, on court No. 2 while Federici claimed a 6-0, 6-1 decision over Castillo and Jackson outlasted sophomore Mia Brandt, 6-0, 6-3.

The Aggies return eight player from this years roster and have already singed two other players for next season’s team.

NM State at Texas Tech Women’s Tennis

May 8, 2015 Lubbock, Texas 2015 NCAA Regional Championships First Round

Match Results

Singles competition

1. Kenna Kilgo (TTU) vs. Ashvarya Shrivistava (NMSU) 3-6, 3-2, unfinished

2. Gabriela Talaba (TTU) def. Susana Alcaraz (NMSU) 6-1, 6-0

3. Sarah Dvorak (TTU) vs. Rimpledeep Kaur (NMSU) 6-3, 3-2, unfinished

4. Lynn Kiro (TTU) vs. Denise Van Der Ben (NMSU) 6-1, 5-1, unfinished

5. Sabrina Federici (TTU) def. Erika Castillo Lopez (NMSU) 6-0, 6-1

6. Katelyn Jackson (TTU) def. Mia Brandt (NMSU) 6-0, 6-3

Doubles competition

1. Kenna Kilgo / Gabriela Talaba (TTU) vs. Susana Alcaraz / Erika Castillo Lopez (NMSU) 6-3, unfinished

2. Lynn Kiro / Sabrina Federici (TTU) def. Ashvarya Shrivistava / Denise Van Der Ben (NMSU) 8-1

3. Sarah Dvorak / Katelyn Jackson (TTU) def. Gabrielle Joyce / Rimpledeep Kaur (NMSU) 8-1


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s